Google’s “Fiber TV” app is now available on iPad

TelecomsTech has previously reported about Google’s “Fiber” initiative, bringing high-speed broadband and TV packages to select areas of Kansas City.

As part of the TV service a mobile app had been released on Android – and now a similar app has just been unleashed on the iPad.

 

The app allows users to have complete control of their Fiber TV experience; from browsing, to buying, to even watching on-demand content directly on the tablet itself.

Whilst the Android app is available both on smartphones and tablets as of last month, there is no word on whether an iPhone app will be released.

Google’s Fiber TV service has been expanding in content (but not geographically) quite rapidly; including recently bringing on a multitude of new channels from Fox, alongside a couple of 3D channels – 3net and ESPN3D.

3D-capable TVs haven’t taken on widespread adoption as of yet; but by the time Google’s service rolls out to the masses, it may become the norm.

Next place on Google’s hit-list to receive the service is Austin, Texas, followed soon after by Provo, Utah - Google has recently been approved to buy iProvo’s network in preparation for launch.

One of the latest people to receive the service is Jennifer Tuttle, from Hanover Heights in Kansas, who in an interview with kshb news says: “Everyone wants to know is it worth it ... is it worth the hype? Just lots of questions about how it works.”

That’s one of the biggest worries currently surrounding the service; whether it’s actually a worthy and reliable service, or whether people are just taking increased notice due to the brand.

For those hoping to see an international rollout soon, according to Broadband Genie, it would cost Google $140 billion to provide Google Fiber service to all of the homes in America, and a whopping $1.6 trillion to blanket the world with gigabit fiber.

Do you think Google Fiber looks exciting, or just hype? Will it be successful regardless?

Related Stories

Leave a comment

Alternatively

This will only be used to quickly provide signup information and will not allow us to post to your account or appear on your timeline.